RSS

Tomato-Basil Parmesan Soup

24 Sep

Chef Karen: It’s fall. Fall means comfort food and that includes soup! I found this recipe the other day and because I have an abundance of tomatoes and basil in my garden, it tweaked my interest enough to want to make it.

It’s a very easy recipe to make. My one dislike is the consistency. It is very thick. Chef Jonathan seemed to think that the rue was quite abundant and that might be the reason. Next time I make it, I’ll certainly cut back on that a bit. The tomato and Parmesan combination are amazing, though, and this is certainly a soup to make often during those cold fall and winter days.

Chef Jonathan: I decided not to follow the rules this week, and I omitted the whole slow cooker concept and made soup old school. I prepared a classic mirepoix (1/2 onion, 1/4 both carrot and celery), instead of the given quantities, and I started by caramelizing my onions, then sweated my carrot and celery, until slightly tender. I then added my tomatoes, stock and herbs, brought up to a boil, then simmered for about an hour. At this point I made my roux, which seemed a bit on the wet side, but when I whisked in the soup, it thickened up nicely. I added about half the scalded cream, seasoned, and let heat for half an hour. All in all, a good soup for a cold day.

20120923-211945.jpg

Here is the recipe: http://utah.todaysmama.com/2012/03/20/tomato-basil-parmesan-soup-in-the-slow-cooker-or-on-the-stove-top/

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 100 other followers

