RSS

Week One – Chocolate Souffle

10 Sep

Karen’s Post:

Our maiden voyage in the cooking blog world!  We finally got to make our soufflé.  It wasn’t a hard recipe to follow but I would have liked it to be a bit more chocolat-ey tasting than it turned out to be.  I don’t like working with egg whites as I’m afraid of over-stirring them and breaking them. I think I over-stirred because my soufflé fell after it came out of the oven.  I think next time I’d find a recipe with flour and not cornstarch I also didn’t have a soufflé pan so I used a casserole dish which I think worked just fine.

All-in-all, though, it tasted good.  Got a positive response from my husband. 🙂

The Recipe

My First Chocolate Souffle

The recipe can be found in Ultimate Chocolate by Patricia Lousada.  Lousada, Patricia. “Chocolate Souffle.” Ultimate Chocolate.Westmount,Quebec: Reader’s Digest, 1997. 102. Print.

Jonathan’s Post:

I was quite skeptical going into this “souffle” of an endeavour. I’ve always heard that Chocolate Souffle’s are incredibly hard to make, and even harder to bake. It proved to be a challenge, but not one we couldn’t overcome. I got off to a rocky start though……my chocolate seized up on me right as I was starting to get my mise en place ready, thankfully I used butter to revert it back to its original state (butter saved the day once again)! The baking time was quite lengthy, and my souffle also fell, but it was delicious. I also made a classic Creme Anglaise to go with my souffle, which added some sweetness.

 

2 responses to “Week One – Chocolate Souffle

  1. Dale

    September 11, 2011 at 12:14 am

    Looks yummy! Can e-bake me one too!
    Dad

     
  2. bec

    September 16, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    It tasted amazing!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
