RSS

Week 6 – Cornbread Two-Ways : He Made, She Made – Elliott style!

24 Oct

Chef Jonathan’s Part:

Going into this week’s blog, I was very excited! I have always loved to make cornbread, but it was always from the box (not that there’s anything wrong with that). But I’ve been wanting to try making it from scratch. So, when we came across this “Cornbread Two-Ways” showcasing the Creme Fraiche and the Strawberry Jam versions, I was thrilled! I’m sure that most of you, like myself either won’t have access to, or won’t want to buy Creme Fraiche. Fortunately, you can make your own! Just take 1 cup Whipping Cream, and 1/2 cup Sour Cream, and blend well. Then set in a container set at room temperature for 24 hours. Then refrigerate for at least 8 hours before using in either this, or another recipe. Simple, right? I found this recipe quite simple, and was very pleased with the result. It’s a very dense cornbread, and you could also make muffins out of them if you prefer. This would go well with Chili, or Stew. Enjoy!

Karen’s Post:

I also love cornbread! I have generally made it from a box (See above statement 🙂 )  I have recently tried making it from scratch but haven’t been that thrilled.  I went along with Jonathan’s idea for this week; I made the recipe that used the strawberry jam.

The recipe was very easy to make.  I did leave out the whole milk (3.5% in Canadian terms) as I’m too cheap to buy 1 litre of whole  milk and 1 litre of buttermilk. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly.  I didn’t have a cast iron pan, either, so my Wolfgang Puck stainless steal frying pan worked quite well in the oven.

The jam turned out too runny but the juice soaked into the bread very nicely. I served both warm and it was quite yummy! It’s sweeter than most cornbread recipes so it could easily be a dessert with the jam.  I’ll make this, again.  You should try it, too!

This was taken from the Food Network Magazine, September 2011.

Forgione, Mark. “Cornbread With Creme Fraiche Recipe : Marc Forgione : Food Network.” Food Network – Easy Recipes, Healthy Eating Ideas and Chef Recipe Videos. Sept. 2011. Web. 22 Oct. 2011. http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/marc-forgione/cornbread-with-creme-fraiche-recipe/index.html.
Guarnaschelli, Alex. “Skillet Cornbread With Strawberry Jam Recipe : Alexandra Guarnaschelli : Food Network.” Food Network – Easy Recipes, Healthy Eating Ideas and Chef Recipe Videos. Sept. 2011. Web. 22 Oct. 2011. http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alexandra-guarnaschelli/skillet-cornbread-with-strawberry-jam-recipe/index.html.
 

4 responses to “Week 6 – Cornbread Two-Ways : He Made, She Made – Elliott style!

  1. gayle greven

    October 24, 2011 at 11:39 am

    Hi You Two…always fun to read your reviews but I miss having a taste of your ‘yummies’.

     
  2. annita

    October 27, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    I was going to look up a recipe for cornbread with buttermilk just yesterday! Thanks!

     

Leave a Reply

 
