RSS

Week #7 – BLT Pasta

31 Oct

Chef Jonathan’s Part:

My new word for this week is “MELD”. Not sure if it’s actually a word, or not……but I like it! I find that, especially in this recipe, if you just let the ingredients mix together, exchanging flavours, and creating new ones, that it really enhances the dish. I really liked this recipe, but I found it was more of a Primavera pasta dish than what I was expecting. I also used 1 cup of cream instead of 1/3 cup, because I love sauce with my pasta! My only critique was the grape tomatoes, not a huge fan of cooked grape tomatoes, they squirt everywhere, and it’s just a mess. Next time, I would likely use a standard heirloom tomato, do a concasse, and then add to the pasta prior to serving!

Karen’s Part:

BLT Pasta this week!  Who doesn’t like a good BLT?  Include some yummy penne and you’ve got a winner on your hands!  This is how I felt when I made this week’s recipe.

I followed the recipe as directed and found it quite easy to make.  My only suggestion would be to make sure the grape tomatoes are cooked down and not still plump when finishing the cooking process.  Other than that, no complaints, no issues and just wonderful compliments on the meal!

This recipe was taken from the insert of the Food Network Magazine “50 Things to Make with Bacon.” (#18)  How can you go wrong?

Enjoy!

BLT Pasta Cook 8 slices bacon; drain and chop. Cook 1 chopped red onion, 3 sliced garlic cloves, some red pepper flakes and 1 teaspoon salt in 3 tablespoons drippings. Add 5 cups grape tomatoes; cook 12 minutes. Add 1/3 cup cream; cook 2 minutes. Toss with 12 ounces cooked penne, 4 cups arugula, the bacon, some basil and a splash of pasta water. Top with parmesan.

“50 Things to Make With Bacon : Recipes and Cooking : Food Network.” Food Network – Easy Recipes, Healthy Eating Ideas and Chef Recipe Videos. Web. September 2011.

 

Leave a Reply

 
