RSS

Week 8 – Hot Spinach and Artichoke Dip

07 Nov

Chef Jonathan’s part:

I was looking forward to this week’s blog, because I very much enjoy making dips like this one. There were a few changes I made though. Instead of boiling both the spinach and artichokes, I just boiled the spinach, and then I threw it in the food processor to puree it into a paste. I added the artichokes to it, then added the rest of the ingredients. I also used fresh artichokes, instead of frozen, and I put some of the marinade in with the dip, it added a nice flavour. I also put it in the oven for about 15-20 minutes, to let it all warm up together. It was a nice addition to lunch, but it would also be a nice appetizer, or even a snack.

Karen’s part:

To be honest, I wasn’t thrilled with this week’s recipe.  I’ve had better artichoke dip from my friend, Darlene, than from Alton Brown.  I think one of the big differences is that he recommends using frozen artichokes.  I used the ones from a can but I know Darlene uses the ones from a jar that have been in herbal oil.  I also found that there wasn’t enough “kick” for me.  I didn’t add the garlic powder because I was out, but it wasn’t that much, anyway so I’m not sure it would have made a difference.

Sorry,Alton.  I probably won’t make this one, again.  I’ll go back and get Darlene’s recipe!

Hot Spinach and Artichoke Dip

Ingredients

  • 1 cup thawed, chopped frozen spinach
  • 11/2 cups thawed, chopped frozen artichoke hearts
  • 6 ounces cream cheese
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/3 cup grated Parmesan
  • 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

Directions

Boil spinach and artichokes in 1 cup of water until tender and drain. Discard liquid. Heat cream cheese in microwave for 1 minute or until hot and soft. Stir in rest of ingredients and serve hot.

Brown, Alton. “Hot Spinach and Artichoke Dip Recipe : AltonBrown : Food Network.” Food Network – Easy Recipes, Healthy Eating Ideas and Chef Recipe Videos. Web. 06 Nov. 2011. <http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/hot-spinach-and-artichoke-dip-recipe/index.html&gt;.

 

Leave a Reply

 
