RSS

Week #10 – Pumpkin Gooey Butter Cakes

21 Nov

Karen’s Part:

This week’s recipe is a nice twist on pumpkin pie.  It’s a Paula Deen recipe called: Pumpkin Gooey Butter Cakes.  If you’re looking for something different, here it is.

I’ve made this recipe twice in a week.  I followed the recipe exactly each time with one exception:  I used a spice cake recipe instead of a yellow cake recipe.  Not that I’d EVER question Paula, but I just thought that with pumpkin, a spice crust might be nicer.

This is an easy recipe to make.  My only complaint is that it never seems to finish cooking in the middle.  Both times I kept it in longer than recommended but I’ve finally had to remove it from the oven so the cake part won’t burn.  I’m open to suggestions if anyone tries this.

It tastes like pumpkin pie but looks like a cake. I think you’ll appreciate something new in the way of pumpkin.  Give it a try!

Chef Jonathan’s Part:

Planning the recipe out, I decided to change the recipe a bit and make a 9X9 square cake, rather than the recommended 13X9. So, I made the cake crust verbatim, but I halved the filling ingredients to fit the new pan. This was nice, because it was smaller, but there was also too much cake in the bottom for my liking. Next time, I would make two 9X9 pans using the recipe verbatim. I didn’t have much trouble with this recipe, except for the cooking time. I raised the baking temp from 350 to 375, and it should’ve only taken 30 minutes, but it ended up taking 50 minutes, at which point I turned off the oven, kept the cake in the oven and let it dry out a bit. This seemed to actually bake the cake the rest of the way, but shouldn’t be a necessary step. I love the taste and texture of this cake, it does taste like pumpkin pie with a twist. I would recommend this recipe, but keep in mind the baking time and plan accordingly.

The recipe can be found at: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/paula-deen/pumpkin-gooey-butter-cakes-recipe/index.html

Deen, Paula. “Pumpkin Gooey Butter Cakes Recipe : Paula Deen : Food Network.” Food Network – Easy Recipes, Healthy Eating Ideas and Chef Recipe Videos. Web. 20 Nov. 2011. <http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/paula-deen/pumpkin-gooey-butter-cakes-recipe/index.html&gt;.
 

Leave a Reply

 
