RSS

Week #12 – Flatbread with Bacon and Scallion Pesto

05 Dec

Chef Jonathan’s Part:

So, I decided to make mine into a pizza instead of a flatbread. It just sounded more fun. That’s the good thing about this recipe, is that you can do so many different variations. I also used my own pesto recipe, using basil, garlic, pine nuts, EVOO, parmesan cheese, and salt and pepper. It’s very simple, but I believe that’s usually the best part, are the simplest and freshest ingredients. I also cooked my onions to the point of being carmelized! Yum! I carmelize onions whenever possible, it is the most delicious way in my opinion. I also just love the “sauce” layer of sour cream, it’s a little different than the traditional function of a pizza sauce, but it works nicely with this recipe, and it draws everything together! Enjoy!

Karen’s Part:

All I had to say to my husband was the word “bacon” and he loved this recipe already! 🙂  In all seriousness, this is an easy recipe to follow and to make.  I chose to use the rolled pizza dough instead of the frozen one but i’m sure it turned out just as well.  I wasn’t that excited about the scallion pesto but it was ok.  I might try basil pesto next time as that is one of my favs.  It says to keep the bacon warm and I recommend following that advice.  I didn’t “get the fact” that the crust bakes and then you add the other ingredients to it.  I felt they were a bit cold.  I’m pretty sure it could be placed back in the oven, with the oven turned off, to warm the whole thing up, if necessary.  Try it.  It was good for a Sunday evening light supper and it would make a great appetizer for a party.  Enjoy!

Here’s the recipe we got it from the Food Network

:http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alexandra-guarnaschelli/flatbread-with-bacon-and-scallion-pesto-recipe/index.html

Guarnaschelli, Alex. “Flatbread With Bacon and Scallion Pesto Recipe : Alexandra Guarnaschelli : Food Network.” Food Network – Easy Recipes, Healthy Eating Ideas and Chef Recipe Videos. 04 Dec. 2011. Web. 04 Dec. 2011. <http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alexandra-guarnaschelli/flatbread-with-bacon-and-scallion-pesto-recipe/index.html&gt;.
 

2 responses to “Week #12 – Flatbread with Bacon and Scallion Pesto

  1. lil sis

    December 7, 2011 at 10:56 am

    Not a huge fan of pesto sauce. What else would you recommend? Thanks 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
