RSS

Week 18 – Baked Spaghetti

30 Jan

Karen:  Who doesn’t like spaghetti?  (or “spaghet” as we call it at our house)  Chef Jonathan found this awesome recipe in the latest edition of the Food Network Magazine and we had to try it.  It’s cool because it’s a contest between Paula Deen and her chef son, Bobby, about two same, yet different, types of baked spaghetti..  Bobby’s is low in fat.  That’s the one I chose to make.  Now, I have to confess that I didn’t use the ground Italian chicken sausage; couldn’t find any, so I used regular pork sausage.  And I have to confess that I didn’t use Angel Hair Pasta; couldn’t find any of that, either, so I used a Capellini which is a step up in size to Angel Hair and it worked just fine. And, I didn’t measure the amount of cheese that I used but who measures cheese, anyway???  Just load it up!  So, my rendition of Bobby’s recipe is slightly different but it’s very yummy!  Now, it does take awhile to chop up all of the fresh ingredients so keep that in mind.  From the start of the recipe to the time it was out of the oven was an hour and a half.  Definately worth the effort.

Here’s a picture of mine and following is the website from the Food Network Magazine for the recipes.  Enjoy!

Chef Jonathan: I found this recipe in the new issue of the Food Network Magazine, and I thought it would be perfect for this week. I did Paula Deen’s version of baked spaghetti, and it was amazing. I used Caparnevale Nest pasta instead of angel hair, and I simply unraveled the nests once they were “al dente”. In this recipe, I found the simmering times a bit of overkill. I would likely simmer the tomato mixture for 30 minutes next time (instead of an hour), and then 10 more after adding the ground beef (instead of 20 more). All in all, a great recipe, and I will definitely try this again.

Bobby Deen’s Light Baked Spaghetti Recipe: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/light-baked-spaghetti-recipe/index.html

Paula Deen’s Baked Spaghetti Recipe: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/paula-deen/baked-spaghetti-recipe2/index.html

 

Leave a Reply

 
