RSS

Week 21 – Red Velvet Layer Cake

20 Feb

Chef Jonathan’s Part:

So this week we decided to do a Valentine’s sweet treat (a little late, I know), commonly known as Red Velvet Cake. So, I did the traditional multi-layer cake with Cream Cheese-Buttercream Icing. I found this cake recipe very easy to follow, as long as you have proper knowledge of the creaming method. This recipe also calls for cake and pastry flour, which is usually only used for cakes. If you don’t have this, I recommend buying some, you’ll use it more than you think. The cream cheese icing was also very simple. But next time, I would cream the butter first, then the cream cheese. I found the butter took a long time to cream once I had the cream cheese in the bowl. The hard part comes when you have to fill the cake. Make sure that you’re adding a good amount of icing in between the layers, but ensure you have enough icing for the top and sides as well. The “crumb coating” of icing as they call it, is not worth your time, just frost it all at once. This is a great recipe for a dinner party, and it can also be made into cupcakes, bundt, or loaves. Enjoy!                                                                     

                                    

 

Chef Karen’s Part:  I don’t know where to start with this delicious cake!  I had so many faux pas that I just ended up laughing at myself.  This IS an easy recipe but I decided that I didn’t want to make the whole cake so I planned to make 1/2 of the recipe but turn them into cupcakes, instead..  Ever tried to divide a recipe that calls for 3 eggs?  First issue.  Second issue was that I didn’t check my pantry for red food colouring.  I used green which actually ended up making the cake look like dark guacamole.  Then, I forgot I was making 1/2 the recipe and creamed the full 12 tablespoons of butter.  Oops!  Mistake number 3.  I quickly pulled out 1/2 of it (how can you tell once it’s creamed?) and set it aside for the frosting.  Everything went well until I went to put the batter into the cupcake tins.  I grabbed a measuring cup that I thought was “clean” and started scooping out the batter; this was when I realized i had used that to measure the oil.  At this point I just laughed and hoped that they would turn out just fine…… which they did.

I ended up cutting them in 1/2 and putting frosting in between them.  They now acutally look like tall Whoopie Pies.  The taste is amazing!  I don’t know why I ever buy box cakes when making them from scratch is so much better!  This recipe is moist and crumbly and worth every step I have to take to walk off the calories!  Make them but try to be more professional in your baking, like Chef Jonathan, than I was!

This recipe is from the the Foodnetwork’s website:

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/food-network-kitchens/red-velvet-layer-cake-recipe/index.html

 

2 responses to “Week 21 – Red Velvet Layer Cake

  1. gayle greven

    February 20, 2012 at 9:43 am

    Hey Karen…thanks for the laugh. I think I have made all of those errors more than once. Kudos to both you and Jonathan for all your efforts…hope to try some of your delisiousness before too long.

     

Leave a Reply

 
