RSS

Week #26 -Ultimate Candy Bar….

16 Apr

Chef Jonathan: This recipe is very simple to make, which is nice because you can make many different variations: ie. adding a layer caramel on top of the chocolate, mixing in peanut butter with the chocolate (my rendition), or just adding your favourite candy and chocolate on top! Although the recipe calls for melting the chocolate in the microwave, I highly discourage this because if left in too long, it can actually burn the chocolate, as opposed to using a double boiler, where you can temper the chocolate to the perfect consistency. I also put M&M’s and Reese’s Pieces on mine. Make sure you refrigerate for a few hours, and enjoy!

Karen:  I had to laugh when I read the idea for this recipe. The original said, “Use leftover chocolate in your house.”  There is NEVER any leftover chocolate in my house!  Therefore, I had to go and buy some to create this snack.

It was very easy to make.  You melt chocolate in a microwave or in a double broiler, pour it onto a pan covered in parchment paper and add your chocolate choices.  I tried to make mine colorful so I added some Cadbury mini eggs.  I pressed down on the candy to help it stick into the chocolate.  Refrigerate it for a couple of hours, crack it into pieces, eat and store the rest in an airtight container.

My recommendation would be to pour it thin.  I made mine in an 8×8 pan and found it was a bit thick on the bottom.  I’d pour it thinner next time. But, you can’t go wrong if you love chocolate, with this recipe.  Adding peanut butter to the bottom layer is a GREAT idea!

This would be easy to make with kids!  Enjoy!

Original recipe can be found: http://www.foxnews.com/recipe/spring-cleaning-chocolate-peanut-butter-lovers-bark

                   Candy I chose.

 Finished product.

 

Leave a Reply

 
