RSS

Strawberry Crumble

25 Jun

Chef Jonathan: Sometimes as experienced culinary chefs, we can get tired of following recipe after recipe, so we are forced to adapt simple recipes to our own liking. I decided to do that this week, with a delicious Strawberry Crumble recipe. It’s incredibly simple, with only a few key steps. You can actually use as many berries as you desire, as long as they just about cover the bottom of your baking dish. Also,  if you don’t feel like measuring out my carefully calculated 1 5/8 C of AP flour, you can just do 2 scant cups. If you feel like adding a little extra carmelization on top, like I did, just sprinkle some more brown sugar on top. Enjoy!

Karen:  This recipe is so good and so easy to make. (it seems like i say that every week…..)  With strawberries at their peak right now, this would be a great recipe to make and have friends over to share it on the deck as you watch the sun go down.  I made it as Chef Jonathan said it should be made, even right down to the 1 5/8 C of flour. (He did this to tease me. I have shown angst when a recipe calls for silly measurements like that!)  I left out the orange juice as I forgot to buy one when I was at the grocery store. And I didn’t measure the berries.  I used what I had left in the fridge.  I’m pretty sure it was more than 500g. The thing I really liked, though, was the after taste of ginger; it was quite unique.  I did add a bit of oatmeal, too, because I like to be different.  I highly recommend this recipe.  Try it for yourself and enjoy!

Strawberry Crisp with a dollop of Cool Whip

Recipe:

500 g Strawberries
1/2 C sugar
zest and juice of 1 orange

Crumble
1 5/8 C AP flour
1/2 C butter, diced and chilled
1/2 C brown sugar
1 tsp ground ginger

Preheat oven to 375 F. Cut the strawberries into halves and put in oven proof dish, adding sugar, zest and juice on top.

Crumble: sift the flour into a bowl. Rub in the butter until in resembles fine cornmeal. Stir in brown sugar and ginger. Spread evenly over fruit and press down lightly with a fork.

Bake in the centre of the preheated oven for 25-30 minutes until the crumble is golden brown.

 

Leave a Reply

 
