RSS

S’mores Pie

16 Jul

Karen: I was soooo excited about this idea. I had thought about the idea for weeks and then decided to see if anyone had ever made this kind of pie. I guess I’m a bit slow; there are many recipes for it “out there.” As usual, I tried a few shortcuts to make my pie taste awesome but take less time. This turned out to be a bit of a failure. I’m still posting because I want our blog readers to see that even “bloggers” fail.

The pie is pretty simple. Graham cracker crust, chocolate filling and a meringue to stand in for the “marshmallows.” When it came out of the oven, my husband commented, “It even smells like a s’more.” And it did. Here’s how I made it. I started with a store bought graham wafer crust. I then made an instant chocolate pie filling and cooled the whole pie. After it was cool, I made a simple meringue with egg whites, sugar, cream of tartar and vanilla. I baked it for 15 minutes at 350 degrees. We let it cool and then had a piece. It was very tasty. This morning, when I looked at in the fridge, it was quite runny. Not very appealing.

Chef Jonathan: I was also looking forward to this week’s S’mores pie challenge. I used the concept for S’mores Pie from this month’s Bon Appetit, although I used my own recipes for the graham crust, chocolate pie filling, and meringue. For the graham crust, I did a simple graham crumb and butter mixture, then pressed into the bottom of a 9-inch pie plate. For the chocolate pie filling, I used my Creme Patissiere recipe, adding melted semi-sweet chocolate after completion. I then filled the pie shell with the filling and made my meringue. I baked the pie for 12 minutes in the oven, just long enough to brown the meringue perfectly like a marshmallow!

20120715-201142.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

 
