RSS

Chopped – Desserts!

14 Jan

We had so much fun doing our last “Chopped – Desserts” that we decided to do another one. Here is the idea of the “game”. We each give each other 3 ingredients and we have to create a dessert with them in just 30 minutes. It’s all a trust thing as we’re in different cities. We can add stuff but we have to use the 3 ingredients given. Here are the results of this week’s creativity:

Chef Karen: My 3 ingredients were: saltine crackers, hard candy (I chose Werther’s) and grape jelly.Chopped Desserts 001

I chose to chop the candies with my food processor and then I added the crackers to make a crust. I also added a bit of brown sugar to help the consistency.

In the meantime, I added 6 candies to whipping cream and brought it to a boil until the candies were melted and I had a nice caramel topping. I then poured the caramel onto the crust. My blast-chiller was down (I wish I had one!) so I put the crust in the frig to cool.

Chopped Desserts 003Next, I creamed some cream cheese with some cool whip and added the grape jelly to it.

Chopped Desserts 004I then poured the whole thing onto my caramel topped crust and zested an orange on the top for colour (My husband’s idea 🙂 )

Chopped Desserts 006

This whole dessert took 25 minutes. It was salty, yet sweet – one of my favourite combinations!

Chef Jonathan: My three ingredients were: hot dog buns, pretzels, and pineapple. I decided to make a Pineapple and toasted pain brûlée with a pineapple jus. I started by buttering the buns, then spreading a brown sugar mixture, consisting also of cinnamon and the crushed pretzels, onto the buns then broiled them in the oven. Next, I spread the same mixture onto the quartered pineapple, then brûléed them with a torch. Meanwhile, I made a pineapple jus by cooking the remaining pineapple and sugar, resulting with a nice, sweet jus. This all only took me about 20 minutes, and I was very happy with the outcome.

20130113-192005.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

 
