RSS

Creme Brulee

20 May

Chef Karen: One of my favourite desserts that Chef Jonathan creates is Creme Brulee. It’s rich, creamy and I LOVE the crunchy sugar-top. I asked him if we could use it for our blog this week. Thankfully, he agreed! I believe he used a different recipe than his usual one. (He may address this himself). I was very surprised at how easy this recipe was to make. I have the conception of anything that is French being hard to make. Wrong-o! I did substitute 1C of whole milk and 1C of 1% milk for 2C of the heavy cream. It was probably the wrong thing to do because even though I was very happy with the taste of the end product, I wasn’t very happy that it was runny. Chef Jonathan thought that maybe I should have cooked it longer. It seemed set when I took them out of the oven but upon presentation and eating, they were runny. My other issue is that I don’t have a torch. I’m proof of the fact that you really don’t need one. I put them under the broiler for a few minutes – watching them oh, so carefully – and that browned them and created the crunchy sugar-top. All-in-all a great dessert and one that even though perceived to be difficult to make, is quite easy.

Ramekins in the oven ready to bake. Notice the hot water bath.

Ramekins in the oven ready to bake. Notice the hot water bath.

Ready to serve with the crunchy sugary-top!

Ready to serve with the crunchy sugary-top!

Chef Jonathan: Creme Brûlée is one of my favourite custard desserts to make. It’s fairly easy too, if you use the proper methods. This recipe is a new one, that I’ve never used before, so the Creme turned out a bit runny, but my little trick is to just throw it in the freezer one hour prior to consumption, and it thickens up nicely. What I like about Creme Brûlée, is the contrasts: first you have a nice smooth, creamy custard with a crunchy almost burnt brown sugar topping. Second, I love the contrast between the cold custard and the flaming hot (literally) topping. There are many variations on a Creme Brûlée ( ie., Chocolate, Fruit, etc.) but I love this timeless, classic version the best. Hope you enjoy this amazing custard as much as we do.
 

20130520-124428.jpg

Here is the recipe: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/creme-brulee-recipe/index.html

 

One response to “Creme Brulee

  1. gayle greven

    May 20, 2013 at 1:01 pm

    I must try this because I love to order it in restaurants but have never made myself. I suppose I should buy ramekins first, though.

     

Leave a Reply

 
