RSS

Lemon-Blueberry Crumb Bars

29 Jul

Chef Karen: Summer and fresh fruit go hand-in-hand.  That’s why this recipe caught my eye; It had the word “blueberry” in it!  I love blueberries.  I love picking them, eating them right off the bush and figuring out how many different ways I can use them in baking. (Yes, yes, I know there are other uses for blueberries but I’m a baker at heart.)  I found the recipe we’ve tested this week very easy to make. I worried about what the crust would taste like and I found it to be pretty good. The bars tasted a bit like cheesecake but weren’t too “cheese-cakey” and I was happy with that.  If you want cheesecake, make cheesecake – don’t make a substitute 🙂  My one comment was that it seemed to dry out easily once I had it in the fridge for a few days.  If you have to keep it, make sure you wrap it tightly to keep this from happening.  I recommend this recipe while you can still go and pick your own blueberries!

photo (3)

Chef Jonathan: This is a nice summer recipe if you have some nice fresh berries. It can be done with any berries, not just of the blue variety, but we here at ORTK love blueberries! Making this dessert reminded me exactly of a New York Lemon Cheesecake I made in school, except for the blueberries are baked inside the bar, instead of a blueberry coulis……Making the crust, I found that there wasn’t nearly enough to fill the bottom of the pan, and do a topping, so I put all of it on the bottom, and left it Non En Croute which I actually prefer. Again, I love this recipe and I will definitely be making it again, possibly this summer. Enjoy!

Blueberry_Bar

Here is the website for the recipe. It’s from the Kraft website.  http://www.kraftcanada.com/en/recipes/lemon-blueberry-crumb-bars-124041.aspx?cm_mmc=eml-_-rbecaen-_-20130717-_-2066&cm_lm=D5FF970BB300121967A3D6C9693765E2

 

Leave a Reply

 
