RSS

Pumpkin Loaf

23 Sep

Chef Karen: I was inspired by Chef Jonathan to make a Pumpkin Loaf.  I’m not a HUGE fan of pumpkin but every-so-often it’s a nice taste – especially for fall!  The loaf recipe that I used was so easy to make!  I even accidentally put in double the baking soda and it still turned out yummy!  I found the recipe from Anna Olsen on the Food Network website.  I made it exactly as written (except for the baking soda)…… I think I would add walnuts next time; that’s the only change I’d make.  It did take over an hour to bake so be prepared for that.  This loaf is VERY moist!  I was very surprised at how moist it was….. must be the pumpkin 🙂  I served this to a group of people and it got rave reviews – I didn’t see any of it in the garbage – which is a bonus! Try this recipe. I know you’ll enjoy it.

Image

 

Chef Jonathan: This is my absolute favourite recipe to make whenever even a hint of fall appears. This is my own recipe that I’ve adapted from one that I used in Culinary School for Pumpkin Cranberry Loaf. So, when a work function asked me to bake something, this my obvious choice. It consists of very simple methods: creaming butter and sugar, incorporating eggs, adding dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, baking soda, allspice, ginger, cloves), and finally adding pumpkin puree, cranberries and vanilla along with a secret ingredient that I wont reveal to anyone (not even my mother…..) One thing I did change this time was using pure pumpkin and sweetening it with brown sugar and spices, I found this a bit better than using the pie filling, because you get it to the sweetness desired. This is always a hit at every gathering, try it out!

Pumkin-Cran-Loaf

 

One response to “Pumpkin Loaf

  1. Norine Duck

    September 24, 2013 at 9:13 am

    My husband’s favourite cookies are pumpkin cookies, because they are moist. Did you know that squash can be substituted for pumpkin in any recipe? We grow lots of squash so that is what I always do. Let me know if you would like some squash.

     

Leave a Reply

 
