RSS

Guest at the Doorstep Apple-Berry Charlotte

11 Nov

*This week Chef Karen is going solo……

What is a Charlotte?  I had to look this one up.  I had heard it used in “food-lands” before but didn’t really care…. until now.  Easily defined, it’s a cake that can be served hot or cold.  The one distinction between Charlotte and other cake is that you use a batter for the mold and fill it with fruit.

That being said, I found this Charlotte very easy to make.  The hardest part was peeling and cutting the apples (which I HATE doing!) so if you like the chore, you’ll find this VERY easy. I used frozen blueberries I had in my freezer from pickings I did last summer and the local grocery store had blackberries on sale… YAY!  This is a great time-of-the-year for apples, too.  It says to use a cast-iron pan. I don’t have one so I used one of my fry pans that I can put into the oven.  I’m pretty sure you could also use a baking dish. Just make sure you check for it being done according to how big your dish is.   I took this for a snack and it got rave reviews.  I’m sure you’ll get the same reviews.  I highly recommend this recipe.

photo (12)

 

Leave a Reply

 
